Spit, spat.

Yesterday I spent about 20 minutes swabbing Donovan’s cheek to get spit absorbed into a sponge, so that I could then wring it out into a test tube. He screamed at me the whole time. Then I spent five minutes trying to make enough of my own spit to spat into my own little tube. Tomorrow I mail the tubes to California to take part in this study.

Ah, the things you do to find out what the heck when wrong on day 28 (for those not familiar, this is the day the spine is supposed to close, and doesn’t in babies with Spina Bifida.

If you’re a mom of a baby with SB, or know one, I highly encourage you to look into the study. SB does not get nearly as much attention as it should. Neither from a fund-raising standpoint, or a research standpoint. I spoke with a Geneticist last week that seemed to think it was just one of those things that we would never know why it happens. That it’s probably multi-factorial, and we’ll never know the formula that ads up to Spina Bifida.

That sort of drives me insane. I know I don’t know now, but I’d like to know one day. What went wrong?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Frances says:

    ahhh hahah, this sounds hilarious. I think genetic testing is exciting!

    And even if we can’t know in the end what the genetic formula is, you’ll know you added to the body of knowledge as much as you could 🙂

    can’t wait to see you!

  2. Kimberly says:

    We did the test too… yeah, my baby wasn’t too impressed either lol:)

Leave a Reply

