Resolution #2: Take my meds. Every day.

Established: January 1, 2010.

Say YES to drugs!

I am a very, very bad pill popper. Last month I had an ear infection, for which I was given antibiotics. I think I took maybe 5 of the 24 pills. And my ear still hurts sometimes.

The only exception to this fault of mine, ironically, was my prenatal vitamins. I took them every night, almost without fail, for several months before getting pregnant and during my pregnancy. Too bad they didn’t work!

First, I have GERD (Gastro Esophageal Reflux Disease, a.k.a. wicked heartburn that can give my throat cancer). So, I have a pill for that. It prevents the disgusting swoosh of stomach acid from launching itself up my throat. Which prevents the damage to my esophagus, which could eventually cause esophageal cancer. So, it’s a good thing to take. Yet, there have been MONTHS that go buy where I just don’t take it. I have no excuse. I can’t even call it laziness because, really, how hard is it to take a tiny little pill.

Second, it really is good to take a daily multivitamin. I am of the school of thought that ALL women of child-bearing age should be taking one with at least 400mg of folic acid. FA is the ONLY thing proven effective in reducing the occurrence of neural tube defects (spina bifida, down syndrome) in pregnancy. It’s very important for women of child-bearing age to maintain good levels of folic acid, because so many babies are unplanned. Those women who become unexpectedly pregnant are the same ones that are not paying attention to folic acid intake.

Third, I take an extra mega dose of folic acid. Women who have had babies with NTDs are instructed to consume 10x the amount of FA before getting pregnant again. I am not trying to get pregnant now, but if it were to happen, I’d be covered. Additionally, it is best for the mega dose to be in your system at least three months before concieving. Since I know I want more children, but not when I will be ready to go through the hell that is pregnancy again, I just take it so I don’t have a long drawn out waiting period of ingesting pills.

Last of all, I did (or do) have hypothyroidism. I have not been on medication for this since having Donovan, which is dumb of me. I’m not sure that I still have it (it was discovered while I was pregnant, and very well could have been pregnancy-induced), and have blood work scheduled for next week. Synthroid is one of the most important medications to take consistently. So, should I need to add that to my other six pills, I am prepared.

Leave a Reply

