First appointment.

on

Today was our first appointment for baby #2, formally known as Ned.

Ned is definitely in existence, according to the “physical examination” of my ute. Lovely, I know.

Anyway, Dr. D was super excited to see D. We brought him along to say hi to the woman who was the first person to ever lay hands on him. She kept gushing about how cute he was. And really, who can blame her?

Anyway, it was an uneventful appointment. But, I am excited that we get to go back for a dating u/s on Thursday! Yay!

I am to keep taking the 4000mcg of folic acid throughout the pregnancy. I was really hoping that was only a first trimester thing. She is also referring me back to Dr. F, my perinatologist so that he can monitor me throughout at least the first and second trimester. Although it means more doctors appointments (every four weeks, just like the OB), it means more ultrasounds!

She thinks he’ll start seeing me at 12 weeks, and then I’ll have an appointment every four weeks until I’m in my late 20’s. So, that means I’ll be getting a level II ultrasound every four weeks! Awesomeness? Yes.

Do you know what else that means?

We’ll probably find out the sex at 16 weeks! Squeeeee! I am so freaking impatient. I need to know if we’re having a Logan or a Rory. (No, those names were not picked from a Gilmore Girls episode.)

I asked if she could go back and look at D’s 20 week u/s again, just to see if anything were missed perhaps. I don’t care if something were missed, but I feel like I’m not going to be comforted that the baby is okay until nothing is showing up at that point. She said that by 20 weeks they will have a very high level of certainty one way or the other. That the level II u/s makes it near impossible to miss those things at that point in the pregnancy. So, that’s good I guess.

Anyway, just wanted to update.

Thank you all so much for the prayers over the last week. Now that I know what’s done is done I feel pretty calm. I just want to know. One way or the other.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Carrie says:

    So sorry to hear this. You are in my thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

