Plinky: The best advice.

The best advice I’ve ever received is from my homeboy, JC. Also known as Jesus or The Messiah.

In the book of Matthew, Jesus sat down with his disciples to school them in the ways of the Lord. One verse has always stayed with me…

“So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.” Matthew 6:34

AMEN.

I am a crazy, rigid, over-planning, type A personality. Just ask anyone who’s ever been on a vacation with me. (On my last vacation, I planned things down to 15 minute increments, on a 10 page itinerary, which included exact directions on how to get from one place to the other the fastest way.)

But, I really do try to listen to this. And it’s usually the basis of my answer when people ask how I deal with everything.

I could worry. I could sit and sob onto my baby (which, yes, I have done). I could spend each and every day constantly researching what the future may hold and how will we deal with it and will people make fun of my child and will something horrible happen to him. But seriously, what is the point of that?

There really isn’t one. I would end up MISERABLE and probably divorced with no friends.

Today’s worries are enough for today. And thankfully, we don’t have many worries day-to-day. Donovan, as much as I tend to focus on the fact that he has Spina Bifida, really is a normal child. Just as all other children with special needs are. Yes, we have more doctors appointments and no, he’s not walking yet. And yes, he gets Physical Therapy every week, and yes I do constantly have to watch out for a shunt malfunction, but these all just become a way of life and we do not really feel very different from most families.

When I do start to feel different, or upset, or scared or frustrated, I just remember that verse. If you do want to take a look, I recommend that entire chapter. It’s very uplifting…especially the verses leading up to that passage.

I’ll leave you with a preview:

“That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life – whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?” Matthew 6:25-27

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Cassie says:

    I love that verse from Matthew. I remind myself of it at least once a week!

  2. Right on.

    And I laughed out loud at the vacation planning. I do the SAME thing. Right down to the multi-page itinerary and the turn-by-turn directions.

  3. Laura says:

    I love love love this post, Erin! ROCK ON. Keep thinking positive thoughts for Donovan, and they will come to pass. SB really isn’t the type of thing you can write a 10-page itinerary for. We people with SB tend to deviate, overcome, and throw medical experts off track most of the time!

    I’m so happy Donovan is doing great. And keep blogging– you’re an AWESOME writer!

    Love,

    Laura 😉

  4. Lori says:

    And this is why it is happily tattooed on the inside of my left wrist. 😀

Leave a Reply

