Baby steps. Literally.

on

For 18+ months I’ve been thinking about how I would feel at this moment.

The moment that my son took his first step. It was tiny, and clumsy, and followed by a fall, but it was a step. And it happened three times.

We were having a dance party, because Donovan loves to dance. Then he found a shiney CD and thought it was just the most amazing thing. So I figured, I’ll just use this to my advantage. First, I used it to distract him and he stood all on his own for about 30 seconds. He was seriously so excited and clapping and thought it was hilarious. So, next I held it out in front of him. He took a tiny little step, tried for another and then landed on his bottom. Then he did it three more times.

Well, the answer was proud. He looked so determined, and excited, and I dare say he may have been just as proud of himself as I was of him. It was adorable and amazing.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I’m so happy for you! My cousin was also born with spina bifida. The doctors told our family that she wouldn’t live more than a day, a week, a year, five years and well, now shes 39!! She’s a living miracle. Sure, she’s had 80 some surgeries and some things are harder for her than they are for others but she lives alone, is independent, SO positive & beautiful. I think I’ll write a post about her thanks to your blog. I’m a new follower!

  2. Kittybits21 says:

    That is wonderful, congratulations Donovan!!

Leave a Reply

