Three to go.

So, as you can probably tell by my very prominent “Babies make you fat.” tab up top, and my various posts of all things yo-yo dieting, I am in a pretty constant state of battle against my body, and the weight that has accumulated since 1. graduating from college and getting a job where I sit on my rear all day long; 2. getting married to a man who can eat whatever he wants, yet has an abnormal dedication to the gym; 3. going through three years of graduate school while working 40+ hours per week; and 4. getting pregnant, then having a baby with special needs which I felt entitled me to an unlimited supply of condolence milkshakes and french fries.

Sorry for that run-on sentence. Sheesh.

Anyway, my most recent “diet” has been counting calories, with the help of Nutrimirror. I have several friends that have been using this 100% free site for quite some time, and lost a ton of weight with it. I, of course, made fun of them for weighing every piece of food, which is a practice a colleague of mine (who is a dietitian) ensures me fosters eating disorders.

But let’s be honest. I was making fun of them because I was jealous. NOTHING has worked for me in any significant way, that has stuck around for the long-term.

Finally, I decided to swallow my pride and try it. Eating disorders be damned.

And, um, it’s working.

I’ve lost 5.6lbs in 19 days. That’s less than three weeks. I am a mere 3lbs away from my pre-Donovan weight – a goal which Nutrimirror is telling me should be accomplished by September 18th. Not that I want to stop there, but it’s at least nice knowing that goal is an end that is in sight.

This is something that takes a fair amount of dedication if you want it to be accurate. You do have to weigh everything you eat. I have been toting my digital food scale back and forth in my purse between home and the office. I probably look like a fool. But, you can still try it out even to get a ballpark figure of how you’re doing. The last week I have not really been great about weighing things, but have still been logging my approximations and did lose a pound.

I’ve been really happy with the results. I hope I can continue to stay dedicated to logging, and see my September 18th goal as a result.

P.S. Sorry Jess. I hope we can still be friends.

Leave a Reply

