#2: Take my vitamins. {100 Change Challenge}

I am TERRIBLE at remembering to take pills. Terrible. Be it a vitamin or an antibiotic I know should be taken for it’s full course, I tend to just forget to take them.

I also hate taking them. So, that probably does not help me remember. Big pills are really terrifying to me. Or little ones that aren’t coated.

When I was pregnant with Donovan I had such a sensitive gag reflex I remember there being mornings I would be trying to swallow my pre-natal vitamin for 30 minutes. When I finally mustered the courage to swallow it, my throat would often experience what I could only describe as a horrible cramp. A charley horse of the throat. I couldn’t breath. It hurt horribly. I imagine that’s what it feels like to be intubated without some sort of sedation. ACK! This same thing happened to me last month when I had a terrible cold and was trying to knock myself out with some NyQuil (because surprise, surprise – I also will NOT drink liquid medications).

Anyhoo, over the last two weeks, I’ve been working on a method to swallow pills that seams to be working – sip of water, insert pills in mouth, deep breath through the nose, plug the nose, swallow. Clearly, I am making this very complicated. But I can’t help it!

Sidenote: If you have the hiccups, plug your nose and drink as many sips of water as you can. I promise it will make them go away!

So, my second challenge this year is to take my pills every day. In general I take a multivitamin, vitamin D and vitamin B12 (per my doctor, this helps with fatigue). But, I am also including any other prescriptions I might be told to take this year.

Leave a Reply

